Ray Chadwick, Diageo Chateau & Estate Wines, Elected '09-'10 Wine Institute Chairman

SAN FRANCISCO –Ray Chadwick of Diageo Chateau & Estate Wines has been elected Wine Institute Chairman for the 2009-2010 fiscal year at Wine Institute’s 75th Commemorative Annual Meeting of Members held at the Silverado Resort in Napa Valley. Also elected were Tom Klein of Rodney Strong Vineyards in Healdsburg, first vice chairman; David Kent of the Wine Group, headquartered in San Francisco, second vice chairman; Kathleen Heitz Myers of Heitz Wine Cellars in St. Helena, treasurer; and José Fernández of Constellation Wines U.S., secretary.

Chadwick has been Diageo Chateau & Estate Wines’ President and CEO since 2001. On July 1, 2009, he will become a member of the Board of Directors for DC&E. During his tenure, he oversaw the company’s wines from around the world, including the California brands of Acacia Vineyard, Beaulieu Vineyard, Blossom Hill Winery, Chalone Vineyards, Edna Valley Vineyard, Moon Mountain Vineyard, Provenance Vineyard, Rosenblum Cellars and Sterling Vineyards. Previously, he served as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Seagram Chateau & Estate Wines Company and Managing Director of Barton & Guestier, S.A. The Wine Enthusiast Magazine honored Chadwick with its Man of the Year award in 2008, and he was also co-honored with chef Thomas Keller of the French Laundry by the Anti-Defamation League in 2007 for his work enhancing cultural diversity. Chadwick also serves on the board of the Napa Valley Vintners.

As Wine Institute Chairman, the difficult economy will pose many challenges for the industry, and Chadwick will continue the emphasis on preventing punitive taxes from being imposed on wine, and advocating for reasonable and liberalized trade in the U.S. and abroad. Through the Institute’s “California First” communications campaign, he supports efforts to educate policy and regulatory leaders on wine’s rightful place as a beverage of moderation making significant economic and social contributions to communities. Chadwick also supports the partnership with the growers to promote sustainable farming and winemaking practices and joining with California’s tourism industry to attract the 20 million people who visit the state’s wine regions annually.

The Wine Institute membership also elected new district- and at-large directors and alternates and nine new winery and associate members, bringing the total membership to 1,079. District directors and their alternates were elected on a one-member-one-vote basis in each district, following nominations by regional winery associations. They are:

NorthernKaj Ahlmann
Six Sigma Winery, Lower Lake
SonomaThomas Klein
Rodney Strong Vineyards, Healdsburg
Louis Foppiano
Foppiano Vineyards, Healdsburg
Julie Pedroncelli St. John
J. Pedroncelli Winery, Geyserville
Richard Arrowood
Amapola Creek Winery, Glen Ellen
Walter Schug
Schug Carneros Estate, Sonoma
Jeff Kunde
Kunde Estate Winery, Kenwood
Greg Wilcox
Lambert Bridge Winery, Healdsburg
NapaKathleen Heitz Myers
Heitz Wine Cellars, St. Helena
Paul Kornell
Oakville Ranch, Napa
Dennis Cakebread
Cakebread Cellars, Rutherford
Pat Stotesbery
Ladera Vineyards,  Angwin
Michael Honig,
Honig Vineyard & Winery, Rutherford
Suzanne Groth
Groth Vineyards & Winery, Oakville
Stephen Corley
Monticello Vineyards, Napa
Robin Baggett
Alpha Omega Winery, Rutherford
San Francisco BayEarl Ault
Cedar Mountain Winery, Livermore
Bill Cooper
Cooper-Garrod Vineyards, Saratoga
Jim Ryan
Concannon Vineyard, Livermore
Bill Murphy
Clos La Chance Wines, San Martin
Monterey BayScott Scheid
Scheid Vineyards, Salinas
Central CoastGary Eberle
Eberle Winery, Paso Robles
Stephen Miller
Central Coast Wine Services,
Santa Barbara
Justin Baldwin
Justin Vineyards & Winery, Paso Robles
Gretchen Roddick
Hope Family Wines, Paso Robles
James Flood,
Rancho Sisquoc Winery, Santa Maria
Michael Hartmann
Lucas & Lewellen Vineyards, Solvang
David Bantly
Dierberg Vineyard, Santa Ynez
SouthernLes Linkogle
Briar Rose Winery, Temecula
Alexander McGeary
Shadow Mountain Vineyards & Winery, Warner Springs
SierraPaul Sobon
Shenandoah Vineyards/Sobon Estate, Plymouth
Stephen Kautz
Ironstone Vineyards, Murphys
Northern InteriorDavid Lucas
The Lucas Winery, Lodi
Fred Weibel, Jr.
Weibel Family Winery, Hopland
Southern Interior Michael Blaylock
Quady Winery, Madera
William Nakata
ASV Wines, Delano



Suggested Articles

A breakdown of the latest $1 trillion from the Senate.

The number of businesses switching from temporary to permanent closures surpasses 50%.

The coronavirus continues to threaten our industry but there are promising medical developments and still many questions on the next round of relief.